Storing sensitive data
When using all digital communication tools, make sure that you only share a document with appropriate colleagues or contacts. If you're not sure how to check who you are sharing files with, contact us for advice.
Where to save sensitive work
The following services are suitable for storing work containing sensitive data, as long as you make sure that only those authorised to access it can view it.
- Your folder on the Kent network (such as your home holder on files.kent.ac.uk)
- Your University OneDrive
- A University SharePoint site or Microsoft Teams site
Sharing files with sensitive data
If you need to share files that contain sensitive data within the University and externally, you can do this from SharePoint, Teams or OneDrive.
When sharing from OneDrive, you need to choose who to share the file with and can untick allow editing if they only need read access.
When you store a file in SharePoint site or Teams, by default everyone in that site or Team gets access to it. You can lock down the access of an individual folder or file.
To lock down sensitive content you should create a separate document library in the SharePoint site,
or a private channel within Teams,
Don't send sensitive data as an email attachment, as this can be forwarded
on. The benefits of sharing via OneDrive, SharePoint or Teams is that
you keep control of who can access the file and can change this
at any point, even if you’ve already sent out a link.
Use sensitivity labels to help keep University content secure.
Software that accesses sensitive data
If you're the business owner of a Kent IT system that stores sensitive data, ask us about the benefits of the Remote Desktop Service to provide remote access for users.
Data compliance at Kent
More about data compliance at the University
Extra security for your Microsoft 365 account
Multi-factor authentication (MFA) provides an additional layer of security to all Microsoft 365 services. This includes your Kent email and apps such as Teams and OneDrive. All staff are currently being enrolled onto MFA.
Protect your devices
Keeping your devices protected is essential to making sure you and other users on the University network are safe.
For practical advice about how to protect yourself from malicious emails see our Email safety guide.
Your data when you leave
- Information stored in Teams and SharePoint will persist when you leave the University.
- Information and files stored in your email or OneDrive will be deleted 30 days after you leave the University. Your line manager will have access to your OneDrive during this 30 day window. You'll need to manage your email and OneDrive before you leave and move any relevant files to shared storage spaces.
Find out all the ways you can get in touch: