Male cellist and female violinist playing in an urban playground rich in graffiti
William Jack.

Colyer-Fergusson Cathedral Concert: University Chorus and Symphony Orchestra

Saturday 11 March, Canterbury Cathedral, 7.30pm

University Chorus and Symphony Orchestra

Daniel Harding conductor

Dan Forrest Requiem for the Living

Shostakovich Symphony no.9

Shostakovich’s remarkable, controversial and provocative symphony – by turns playful, witty, profound and nimble as the composer deals with the issue of writing a Ninth Symphony After Beethoven. 

The second half brings the University Chorus and Orchestra together in a richly-hued twentieth-century prayer for rest for the living, moving from grief to eternal light, filled with drama, lyricism and stunning colours. 

Two contrasting pieces from the twentieth- and twenty-first centuries will unfold in the sonorous surroundings of the Cathedral Nave for what promises to be a memorable performance, as the Music department continues its year-long Colyer-Fergusson tenth anniversary celebrations

T: £22 / £18 / £14 / £10 / £8

Last updated