Honorary Degrees


Chair: Vice-Chancellor and President (ex officio), Professor Karen Cox

Chancellor (ex officio), Dr Gavin Esler

Chair of the Council (ex officio), Dame Ursula Brennan (to 31.7.2023)

Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost (ex officio), David Nightingale

Public Orator (ex officio) one of
Dr Oliver Double (to 31.7.2022)
Professor Darren Griffin (to 31.7.2020)
Professor Dan Lloyd (to 31.7.2022)
Dr Todd Mei (to 31.7.2021)
Dr Louise Naylor (to 31.7.2021)
Professor Toni Williams (to 31.7.2021)

Four members of Council
Bob Scruton (to 31.7.2021)
Sarah Gibson (to 31.7.2021)


Four members appointed by Senate
Professor Simon Kirchin (to 31.7.2022)

Dr Peter Nicholls (to 31.7.2022)
Professor Sally Sheldon (to 31.7.2022)
Professor Alex Stevens (to 31.7.2022)

President of the Students’ Union (ex officio), Josh Frost.

Secretary: Dr Sinead Critchley, Director of Governance and Assurance, (Secretary to Council).

Quorum:  one third of total actual membership with a lay majority.  The Committee has 5 lay and 8 University members making a total of 13 so Quorum = 5 (with at least 3 lay members).  (Approved by Council in December 2005)

Frequency of meetings: 1-2 p.a.

Terms of Reference:

Proposals for the conferment of honorary degrees shall be considered by a Joint Committee of the Council and the Senate. (Ordinance 27.2)

Procedure for the Revocation of Honorary Degrees.

Governance - © University of Kent

The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ, T: +44 (0)1227 823903 or Contact us

Last Updated: 03/08/2020