The Council is "the supreme governing body of the University" and its responsibilities include "the oversight of the management and administration of the revenue and property of the University" and "oversight of the conduct of the affairs of the University "*. The Council is also responsible for the appointment of lay officers, including its Chair and the Chancellor, and lay members of the Council and external auditors and for the making and amending of the University’s Statutes (subject to the Privy Council’s approval) and Ordinances. The Council’s principal committees include the Finance and Resources Committee, Audit Committee, Lay Nominations Committee and the Remuneration Committee. Council comprises 25 members.The majority of its membership is of lay members (17); other members include staff and student representatives. The Council holds five meetings per year.

* Extract from Section 6 of the University’s Charter.







Governance - © University of Kent

The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ, T: +44 (0)1227 823903 or Contact us

Last Updated: 22/03/2021