Centre for American Studies

People

Many of the teachers who make up the Centre for American Studies have lived in the USA or Latin America and taught in American Universities, and all have a continuing commitment to teaching, research and writing on American subjects. Click on the appropriate subject specialism in the list below to find out more.

PLEASE NOTE: All links to individual staff members' information are to 'Home' department pages. You will need to use your browser's navigation to return here.

History

Members
Aurelie Basha Lecturer in American History A.Basha@kent.ac.uk
Ben Marsh Senior Lecturer in American History B.J.Marsh@kent.ac.uk
Erik Mathisen Lecturer in American History E.Mathisen@kent.ac.uk
John Wills Reader in American History and Culture J.Wills@kent.ac.uk

Literature

Members
David Ayers Professor of Modernism and Critical Theory D.S.Ayers@kent.ac.uk
Stella Bolaki Reader in American Literature S.Bolaki@kent.ac.uk
Sean Grattan Lecturer in American Literature S.Grattan@kent.ac.uk
Claire Hurley Assistant Lecturer in American Literature C.E.Hurley@kent.ac.uk
Paul March-Russell Specialist Assistant Lecturer in Comparative Literature P.A.March-Russell@kent.ac.uk
Will Norman Reader in American Literature and Culture, Director of the Centre for American Studies W.Norman@kent.ac.uk
Patricia Novillo-Corvalán Senior Lecturer in Comparative Literature P.Novillo-Corvalan@kent.ac.uk
David Stirrup Professor in American Literature D.F.Stirrup@kent.ac.uk
Dr Juha Virtanen Lecturer in Contemporary Literature J.P.Virtanen@kent.ac.uk

Politics

Members
Andrew Wroe Senior Lecturer in American Politics A.J.Wroe@kent.ac.uk

Film Studies

History of Art

Members
Martin Hammer Professor of the History and Philosophy of Art M.A.Hammer@kent.ac.uk

Latin American Studies

Members
William Rowlandson Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies W.Rowlandson@kent.ac.uk
Natalia Sobrevilla Perea Professor of Hispanic Studies N.Sobrevilla@kent.ac.uk

Associate Members

Members
Monica Manolescu Honorary Research Fellow manoles@unistra.fr
Henry Claridge Honorary Research Fellow G.H.Claridge@kent.ac.uk
Karen Jones Reader in American History K.R.Jones@kent.ac.uk
Kate Rennard Research Associate, School of English K.Rennard@kent.ac.uk

 

Fax +44 1227 827060, Telephone +44 1227 823140

Centre for American Studies (Room N3 S1), Rutherford College, University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NX.
Send us an email from our mail form

Last Updated: 05/02/2019