Kennedy Wong Moot Court officially opened at Kent Law School

Press Office
Moot Court opening by Matt Wilson
Mr and Mrs Wong at the Moot Court opening

Hong Kong Supreme Court solicitor Kennedy Wong has officially opened a Moot Court named in his honour at the University.

The Kennedy Wong Moot Court provides a state-of-the-art facility for students of Kent Law School and is the first at a university to be able to host paperless moots.

The naming of the Court in honour of Kennedy Wong came after he became a major benefactor of the Kent Law Campaign, which raised £5m for the construction of new building housing the Kent Law Clinic and the Moot Court.

The official opening, on 27 March, saw four Kent Law School alumni return for the special ‘show moot’ to act as the advocates for the appellant and for the Crown in a case that involved a threat to the Prime Minister at a party conference.

Alexander Acaster, Joe Chambers, Cara Hall and Guevara Leacock presented their arguments before a Court of Appeal panel comprising: barrister Richard Honey (from Francis Taylor Building); the Rt Hon Lord Justice Mummery; Judge Andrew Patience QC; Law School Lecturer and criminal barrister Darren Weir; and Her Honour Judge Adele Williams.

After graduating from Kent with a degree in Law, Kennedy Wong was admitted as a solicitor of the Supreme Court of Hong Kong. Named as one of the Ten Outstanding Young Persons of Hong Kong, he was also selected as one of the Ten Outstanding Young Persons of the World by the Junior Chamber International. He is President of the Hong Kong Young Legal Professionals Association, which he co-founded in 1997.

Today he is senior partner at Philip K H Wong, Kennedy Y H Wong & Co, a major regional law firm with offices in Beijing, Shanghai and Hong Kong as well as affiliates worldwide. He is Visiting Professor of the School of Law at Sun Yat-sen University and serves on a wide variety of public bodies and is a council member of Hong Kong Baptist University.

He is a founding member of the Hong Kong Legal Forum and a local delegate to the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference. In 2005 he was awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star medal.