From the very beginning, DICE’s mission has been to build capacity in the conservation sector by providing relevant and interdisciplinary training for the next generation of researchers and practitioners. We now have over 1,600 alumni from 106 countries, many of them playing important conservation roles across the world.

Prize winners

Our alumni have been awarded a number of national honours and international conservation prizes:

Dr Inogwabini Bila-Isia: UNESCO Young Scientist Award; National Geographic/Buffet Award for Leadership in African Conservation

Dr Erika Cuellar: Whitley Award for Nature

Dr Laury Cullen: Whitley Gold Award; Rolex Enterprise Award

Dr Arnaud Desbiez: Whitley Award for Nature

Dr Gerardo Garcia : Sabin Conservation Prize

Sanjay Gubbi: Carl Zeiss Wildlife Conservation Award; Whitley Award for Nature

Rachel Ikemeh: Whitley Award for Nature

Dr Winnie Kiiru: Order of the Grand Warrior

Daniel Letoiye: Whitley Award for Nature

Nick Marx: Royal Order of Sahametrei, Government of Cambodia

Dr Patrícia Medici: Harry Messel Conservation Leadership Award; Whitley Award for Nature; Future For Nature Award; Whitley Gold

Dr Cheryl Mvula: Member of the British Empire

Dr Benson Okita-Ouma: Moran of the Burning Spear, Kenya

Dr Susanna Paisley: Whitley Award for Nature

Edwin Sabuhoro: IUCN/WCPA Young Conservationist Award; President Obama, Young African Leader

Dr Samia Saif: Future For Nature Award

Dr Ian Singleton: Order of the British Empire

Belinda Stewart-Cox: Order of the British Empire

Simson Uri-Khob: Namibia Nature Foundation’s Environmental Award; Prince William Award for Conservation in Africa, Tusk Trust

Hugo van der Westhuizen: Bruno-H. Schubert Prize

Dr Diogo Verissimo: IUCN Commission on Communication and Education Young Professional Award

Last updated