Council Membership

Council Membership 2020/2021

As at 1 August 2020

University Charter, paragraph 8, prescribes the Council membership and this is currently as follows:

(a) Sixteen persons external to the University:
Chair of the Council: Dame Ursula Brennan (to 31.7.2023)
Deputy Chair of the Council/Chair of the Finance and Resources Committee Bob Scruton (to 31.7.2021)
  Colin Carmichael (to 31.7.2023)
Martin Cook (to 31.7.2022)
Neil Davies (to 31.7.2023)
Sarah Gibson (to 31.7.2021)
Kim Lowe (to 31.7.2024)
Gabriel MacGregor (to 31.7.2024)
Mark Malcomson (to 31.7.2022)
Andrew Newell (to 31.7.2024)
Gill Nicholls (to 31.12.2023)
Mark Preston (to 31.7.2024)
Sir David Warren (to 31.7.2021)
Nicola Williams (to 31.12.2023)
(b) Two persons elected from among their number by the academic staff of the University:
Academic staff: Professor Iain Wilkinson (to 31.7.2023)
Dr Owen Lyne (to 31.7.2022)
(c) Two persons elected from among their number by the non-academic staff of the University:
Academic-related staff and other staff: Mark Ellis (to 31.7.2021)
Zoe Wood (to 31.7.2021)
(d) One person elected from among their number by students of the University:
For 2020/2021: Zarafshaan Tahir
(e) The Vice-Chancellor and President:
  Professor Karen Cox
(f) Up to two officers of the University, appointed by Council following consultation with the Chair and the Vice-Chancellor:
Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Academic Strategy, Planning and Performance Professor Georgina Randsley de Moura
Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Education and Student Experience Professor Richard Reece
(g) The President of the University of Kent Students' Union and the sabbatical officer for postgraduate students:
President of Kent Union: TBC (for 2020/2021)
Vice-President Postgraduate Experience Patrick Stillman (for 2020/2021)


Council Strategy Meeting, February 2020

Earlier photographs of Council can be found here.

(a) Total prescribed membership: 25 members
(b) Council members - Trusteeships for 2020-2021
(c) Queries should be addressed to Dr Sinead Critchley, Director of Governance and Assurance (Secretary to Council), (email


Governance - © University of Kent

The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ, T: +44 (0)1227 823903 or Contact us

Last Updated: 21/07/2021