Comparative Literature

Paul March-Russell to judge Arthur C Clarke award

1 September 2016

An Article Image

Dr Paul March-Russell, Specialist Associate Lecturer in the Department of Comparative Literature, is to be a judge for the Arthur C. Clarke Award for science fiction literature.

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain. The annual award was established in 1987, with a generous grant by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the UK during the previous year. The winner is judged by a jury panel and selected from an initial shortlist of six eligible novels.

The panel of judges is made up of a voluntary body of distinguished writers, critics and fans with the panel line-up changing every year. The juries are drawn from such organisations as the British Science Fiction Association, the Science Fiction Foundation and the Sci-Fi London film festival.

Judges are appointed for two years: Paul will be on the panel for the 2017 and 2018 awards.

Dr Paul March-Russell is the editor of Foundation: The International Review of Science Fiction, and general editor of SF Storyworlds  (Gylphi Press). His latest book publication is Modernism and Science Fiction (Palsgrave, 2015).

Further details of the Arthur C. Clarke Award are available at:

Comparative Literature, School of European Culture and Languages, University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NF

Enquiries: +44 (0)1227 827159 or email the department

Last Updated: 23/01/2014