Teaching, Research and Innovation Awards 2019

Kent staff celebrated for teaching, research and innovation excellence

The outstanding achievements of Kent staff in teaching, research and innovation were marked at an awards ceremony in July.

Over 80 guests attended the awards in the Darwin Suite at Canterbury campus – the first time that teaching, research and innovation excellence have been celebrated at the same event.

The 25 award-winners were introduced by Deans of their Faculties and received their award from the University’s Vice-Chancellor and President, Professor Karen Cox.

She said: ‘At a time when we are facing a huge range of demands, while working to provide an outstanding student experience and undertake cutting-edge research, this is an opportunity to come together and recognise what makes Kent great: excellence, collegiality, and a willingness to think differently.’

Award-winners were:

Advanced Research AwardProfessor Richard Griffiths (School of Anthropology and Conservation)

Consolidator Research AwardProfessor Tracy Kivell (School of Anthropology and Conservation)

Starting Research AwardDr Rob Barker (School of Physical Sciences)

Early Career Researcher in Knowledge Exchange AwardDr Kaitlyn Regehr (School of Arts)

Innovation and Enterprise Collaboration AwardProfessor Darren Griffin (School of Biosciences)

Public Engagement with Research AwardProfessor Gordon Lynch (School of European Culture and Languages)

Technical Support AwardKevin Smith and Julien Soosaipillai (Kent School of Architecture and Planning)

Faculty of Sciences Teaching AwardDr Rosalyn Masterton (School of Biosciences)

Faculty of Humanities Teaching AwardsDr Declan Wiffen, Dr Juha Virtanen, Dorothy Lehane and Professor David Stirrup (School of English)/Dr Wissia Fiorucci (School of European Culture and Languages)

Faculty of Humanities Teaching AwardDr Timothy Brittain-Catlin, Benjamin Wood, and Patrick O’Keeffe (Kent School of Architecture and Planning)

Faculty of Social Sciences Teaching AwardsSue Tarrant (Kent Business School)/Dr Suhraiya Jivraj (Kent Law School)

University Learning Support Awards – Lorraine Millard (Student Support and Wellbeing), Dr Elisabeth Curling (School of Biosciences) and Louise Frith (Student Learning Advisory Service)/Kellyann Ward, Dr Daniel Alai and Leann Phillips (School of Mathematics, Statistics and Actuarial Science)

Full details of all the prize-winners, including what they were recognised for, are available on the Teaching, Research and Innovation Awards website.