Kent Magazine - Winter 2021/22

Terry the Terrapin

Kent Magazine: Winter 2021/22

Latest issue out now - in print and online!

Kent Magazine returns this winter 2021/22 to bring you all the latest news, research, and stories from the Kent community.

It's available a few different ways: 

  • In print - we've posted copies to our alumni who have recently updated their postal address with us. If you haven't received a copy but would like one, please email us with your current address and we'll add you to the mailing list. 
  • On our campuses, at college receptions and in magazine stands at select locations (coming soon). 
  • Online and to download as a PDF file on
  • Online on this site - scroll down to read this issue's features about research as well as Kent alumni, staff, students and more!
Mike Wilkins on the 3GX pitch


Mike Wilkins MBE transformed sport at Kent. Today, he remains a popular member of the University community. We caught up with him to hear about his life, career in football, and time at Kent.

Research feature

Park Wood forest

From the ground up

Under pressure from the climate crisis facing us all, the work of the Landscape and Grounds Team and Sustainability Team is shaping a new campus. 

They are inspired and guided by developments and research in environmental science, underpinned by a desire to create an environment which benefits everyone – balancing the needs of students, staff and the local community with those of the wildlife which populates the campus.

Ants on a branch
Bee on a plant
Professor Abdulrazak Gurnah
© Nobel Prize Outreach. Photo: Hugh Fox.

Abulrazak Gurnah

We are delighted that our alumnus and Emeritus Professor Abdulrazak Gurnah has won the Nobel Prize for Literature 2021


The University of Kent magazine is put together by an Editorial Board, made up of colleagues from across the University. 

Editor: Christopher Wenham
Designer: Lesley Farr
Principal photography: Matt Wilson
Editorial team: Gary Hughes, Tim Farrow-House, Andrea Shieber, Tim Davies

With special thanks to: Rhys Higgins, Alex Perkins, Ian White, Karen Baxter, Olivia Miller, Sam Wood, Dr Philip Pothen, Dr Simone Kraemer, Dr Des Laffey, Laura Kimpton, Mary Langford, Hilary Edridge, Dr John Wills, Professor Shane Weller, Basma Taysir El Doukhi, Emily Mason, Chris Wright, Pako Lekoko, Ants Galt, Bernard Bibby, Mike Wilkins, Kalia Yiannakis, Dr John Stolz, Zulfikaur Wajid-Hasan & the Bestway Foundation.