Jump to body content.
Find a Scholarship

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

The award covers tuition fees, return airfares and living costs (£1,084 per month in 2018/19) for a one-year taught Master's programme.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships, set up by DFID in 1986, represent a unique partnership between the United Kingdom government and UK Universities.

Funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), Commonwealth Shared Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development, and are aimed at those who could not otherwise afford to study in the UK. 

These scholarships are offered under six themes:
- Science and technology for development
- Strengthening health systems and capacity
- Promoting global prosperity
- Strengthening global peace, security and governance
- Strengthening resilience and response to crises
- Access, inclusion and opportunity


To be eligible to apply for this scholarship, candidates must:
  • Hold an undergraduate degree at UK first class level equivalent. 
  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by one of the eligible Commonwealth countries listed at: http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/apply/shared-scholarships/#countries or be a British Protected Person
  • Be a permanent resident in one of the eligible Commonwealth countries listed above
  • Be committed to the University of Kent, you are able to apply for more than one course and/or to more than one University, but you may only accept one offer of a Shared Scholarship
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country. 
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship.
  • Return to their home country as soon as their period of study is complete. In some circumstances a student may be permitted to remain in the UK if seeing doctoral study and they satisfy certain strict conditions. 
  • Hold an offer by the deadline for a full-time postgraduate taught degree on one of the eligible courses at the University of Kent (Canterbury Campus):
    MA International Conflict Analysis or MSc Conservation and Rural Development (eligible candidates must have met all necessary academic conditions for their programme of study including qualifications, references, and English language requirements)

How to apply

To be considered for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship you must: 

• Make a formal application for a postgraduate degree at the University of Kent commencing September 2019/20.  This can be done online via http://www.kent.ac.uk/courses/postgraduate/apply/

 • Complete the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) online application form. This can be done online at https://fs29.formsite.com/m3nCYq/wfeafywiw0/index.html
Applications will be considered based on Academic Excellence and a completed application. 

For full information on this scholarship please visit; http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/apply/shared-scholarships/
For full terms and conditions please see http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/Commonwealth-Shared-Scholarships-terms-and-conditions-2019-.pdf


The deadline for this scholarship for 2018/19 has passed. Details for 2019/20 will be published here when available  
For further information please see http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/apply/shared-scholarships/

Publishing Office - © University of Kent

The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ, T: +44 (0)1227 764000