Governance at the University of Kent

The University of Kent is a self-governing autonomous institution set up by Royal Charter 1965. The Charter sets out its overall constitution, and is supplemented by statutes and ordinances that provide more detail as to how the University operates in practice.

This section of the University website provides links to these key constitutional documents and the records of the key governing bodies of the University: the Council and its sub committees that have overall responsibility for the governance of the institution; the Senate, which has responsibility for the academic work of the University; Senior Leadership Forum and the Executive Group.

The University has adopted the The Higher Education Code of Governance

Magna Charta Universitatum

The University of Kent is a founding signatory of the Magna Charta Universitatum. Signed in 1988, the Charta is a commitment to institutional autonomy for universities, the link between teaching and research, academic freedom and the internationalism of higher learning. The Charta has an associated Observatory that gathers information and forms opinion from signatory institutions to promote fundamental university values.

Magna Charta Universitatum logo


Governance - © University of Kent

The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ, T: +44 (0)1227 823903 or Contact us

Last Updated: 26/05/2020