About Kent

Principal officers


The Lord Archbishop of Canterbury


Gavin Esler BA (Kent), MA (Leeds), DCL (Kent), FRSA

Chair of the Council

John Simmonds AIB


Professor Dame Julia M Goodfellow DBE, CBE, BSc (Bristol), PhD (Open), FMedSci, FIBiol, FInstP

Chair of the Finance and Resources Committee

Tony Quigley BSc (Eng) (London), CEng, FIET

Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor

David Nightingale MA (Oxford)

Deputy Vice-Chancellors

Denise Everitt, BA (Hons), ACA (Kent)
Professor Keith Mander, BSc, PhD (Nottingham)


Professor John Baldock BA (Oxford), MA (Kent) - until 31 July 2014
Professor Chris Davies, PhD (Manchester) - from 1 July 2014
Professor Phillippe De Wilde, MSc (Ghent), PhD (Ghent) - from 1 July 2014
Professor Alexandra Hughes BA, PhD (London), PGCE (Oxford) - until 31 August 2014

Director of Finance

Jane Higham BSc (Warwick), ACA

Dean of the Faculty of Humanities

Dr Simon Kirchin MA (Oxford), PhD (Sheffield)

Dean of the Faculty of Sciences

Professor Mark Burchell BSc (Birmingham), DIC, PhD (London)

Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences

John Wightman MA, LLB (Cambridge)

Dean of the Graduate School

Professor Diane Houston MA (Dundee), PhD (Kent), CPsychol, FBPsS, AcSS

Dean for Europe

Professor Roger Vickerman MA (Cantab), DPhil (Sussex), Dr hc (Marburg), FRSA, FCILT, AcSS

Sub-Dean for Medway

Professor Nicholas Grief, BA PhD (Kent), Barrister at Law

Secretary to the Council (and the Court)

Dr Keith Lampard BA (Kent), MSc (London), PhD (Kent), PGC-HEM (Southampton)

Senior Master

Dr Wayne Campbell, BSc (Kent), MSc (Loughborough), MA (Cambridge), PhD (Kent)

Master of Darwin and Woolf Colleges

Dermot O'Brien MBA (Hartford), PGDip (Roehampton), FRSA, FHEA

Master of Eliot College

Stephen Burke BA (Kent)

Master of Keynes College

Sian Stevenson BA (London)

Master of Rutherford College

Dr Peter Klappa BSc, MSc, PhD (Munich), PGCHE (Kent)

College Master for Medway

Jane Glew BSc (Aston), PG Dip (CIM), MA (Greenwich)

Corporate Communications

The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ, T: +44 1227 764000

Last Updated: 16/07/2012