School of Physical Sciences

Staff list

Academic staff

Prof Nigel J. Mason Head of School of Physical Sciences
Dr Simon J. Holder Deputy Head of School of Physical Sciences
Prof Mark Burchell Professor of Space Science
Prof Anna Corrias Professor of Chemistry
Prof Mark A. Green Professor of Materials Chemistry
Prof Stephen Lowry Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Prof A.Gh Podoleanu Head of Applied Optics Group
Prof Michael D. Smith Professor of Astronomy
Prof Paul Strange Professor of Physics
Prof Michael J. Went Professor of Chemistry and Forensic Science
Dr Maria Alfredsson Reader in Theoretical Materials
Dr Simon J. Holder Reader in Organic Chemistry
Dr Gavin Mountjoy Reader in Condensed Matter Physics
Dr Dean Sayle Reader in Chemistry
Dr Christopher Solomon Reader in Physics
Senior lecturers
Dr Donna Arnold Senior Lecturer in Forensic Science
Dr Stefano Biagini Senior Lecturer in Organic Chemistry
Dr Ewan Clark Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Dr George Dobre Senior Lecturer in Applied Optics
Dr Dirk Froebrich Senior Lecturer in Astronomy/Astrophysics
Dr Stuart Gibson Senior Lecturer in Forensic Science
Mr Robert Green Senior Lecturer in Forensic Science
Dr Emma McCabe Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Dr Jingqi Miao Senior Lecturer in Theoretical Astrophysics
Dr Mark Price Senior Lecturer in Space Science
Dr Jorge Quintanilla Senior Lecturer/SEPnet Fellow in Condensed Matter Theory
Dr Silvia Ramos-Perez Senior Lecturer in Materials Physics
Dr Paul Saines Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Dr Christopher Serpell Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Dr Christopher Shepherd Senior Lecturer in Forensic Science
Dr Helena Shepherd Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Dr Robert Barker Lecturer in Chemistry and Forensic Science
Dr Aaron Berko Lecturer in Forensic Science/Chemistry
Dr Adrian Bradu Lecturer in Applied Optics
Dr Nicholas Bristowe Lecturer in Chemistry
Dr Sam Carr Lecturer in Physics
Dr William Gee Lecturer in Chemistry and Forensic Science
Dr Jennifer Hiscock Lecturer in Chemistry
Dr Michael Hughes Lecturer in Applied Optics
Dr Vicky Mason Lecturer in Physics/Director of Public Engagement
Dr Gunnar Möller Royal Society University Research Fellow in Physics
Dr Alex Murray Lecturer in Chemistry
Dr Aniello Palma Lecturer in Organic Chemistry
Dr Emma Pugh Lecturer in Physics
Dr Gaby Roch Lecturer in Physics
Dr Florence Sallas Lecturer in Chemistry
Dr James Urquhart Lecturer in Physics and Astrophysics
Dr Penny Wozniakiewicz Lecturer in Space Science

Research staff

Applied Optics Group
Dr Ramona Cernat Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr Yong Hu Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Manuel Marques Research Associate
Dr Cristian Nistor Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Radu-Florin Stancu Visiting Researcher
Centre for Astrophysics and Planetary Science
Dr Kathryn Harriss Research Associate
Agata Makieła Research Postgraduate
Functional Materials Group
Dr Andre Duvel Visiting Research Fellow
Dr Sudeep Ghosh Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Danilo Loche Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Yu-Chin Tzeng Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Christopher Winterowd Postdoctoral Research Associate


Emeritus and Honorary staff

Emeritus Professors
Prof Ian Bruce Emeritus Professor of Nanobiotechnology
Prof Alan Chadwick Professor of Physical Chemistry
Prof J. C. Dore Emeritus Professor of Condensed Matter Physics
Prof D. A. Jackson Emeritus Professor of Applied Optics
Prof Richard Jones Emeritus Professor of Polymer Science
Prof R.J. Newport Emeritus Professor of Materials Physics
Prof John Strange Emeritus Professor of Experimental Physics
Prof John Todd Emeritus Professor of Mass Spectroscopy
Honorary Professors
Prof Z. Szotek Professor of Physics
Prof Ofer Lahav Professor of Astronomy
Visiting Professors
Prof J F W Mosselmans  
Visiting Lecturers
Dr R Mallion  
Honorary Readers
Dr J. A. Creighton Reader in Chemical Spectroscopy
Dr J. D. Wright Reader in Materials Chemistry
Honorary Senior Lecturers
Mr E. A. Ansarai  
Dr L. H. Ryder  
Dr D. H. Niblett  
Honorary Senior Research Fellow  
Dr D. MacKay  

Administrative staff

Clair Gould School Administration Manager
Stephanie Astro Employability Officer
Kim Harty Degree Programmes Manager
Dr Vicky Mason Director of Public Engagement/Lecturer in Physics
Cordelia Scott SEPnet/Ogden Engagement Officer
Ms Christine Vickerman Student Support Adviser
Clerical and secretarial staff
James Burt Clerical Receptionist
Rachel Butland Finance Assistant
Ms Sharon Humm Personal Assistant to the Head of School
Amy Jackson Administration and Recruitment Assistant
Katherine Moss Recruitment and Marketing Officer
Rachel Small Clerical Receptionist
Sue Welford Student Support Co-ordinator
Zoe Wood School Finance and Research Officer
Michael Woods Postgraduate and Research Coordinator

Technical staff

Bernard Doolin Head of Technical Services
Trevor Reece ICT Co-ordinator & Web Editor
Nick French IT Support Technician
Dr Tim Kinnear Advanced IT Support Technician
Ian Ross Technician
Peter Verrall Technician
Laboratory Technicians
Jennifer Baker Technician Lab 1
Dr David Colclough Technician Lab 1
Dr Hazel Harris Technician Lab 1
Jonathan James Chief Technician - Chemistry Teaching Lab 1
Dr Spartaco Landi Technician Lab 1
Phil Marsh Chief Laboratory Technician Lab 3
Dr Dave Pickup Chief Technician - Physics Lab Lab 4
Experimental Officers
Mike Cole Experimental Officer - CAPS group
Dr Andrew Morrell Laboratory Experimental Officer Lab 2
Melissa Sampson Assistant Experimental Officer Lab 3

School of Physical Sciences, Ingram Building, University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NH

Enquiries: contact us

Last Updated: 12/09/2018