Jump to body content.
Find a Scholarship

Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851

Approx £30,000 per annum (External Link)

The Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851 was established in 1850 by Queen Victoria to mastermind the Great Exhibition. Among those previously supported by 1851 awards are twelve Nobel Laureates, six holders of the Order of Merit and four Presidents of the Royal Society - names such as Lord Rutherford, Sir John Cockcroft and Lord Penney.

Research Fellowships in Science and Engineering - Approximately eight awards are made each year to PhD-level scientists or engineers of outstanding promise including the 1851 Brunel Fellowship for the highest placed successful candidate who has proposed a project to be pursued in an academic engineering environment.

The Fellowships will normally be held at a UK Institution and are offered for 3 years, subject to annual review.

The stipend payable is £30,000 for year 1, and £31,500 for years 2 and 3. In addition a London (Overseas) Weighting of £2,500 per annum is payable in appropriate cases. Stipends are reviewed annually.


  • Open to candidates intending to conduct research in any of the physical or biological sciences, in mathematics, in applied science, or in any branch of engineering
  • Candidates must be in possession of a recent PhD, or equivalent qualification (normally with no more than 3 years postdoctoral experience) or be in the final stages of their PhD studies, which must be successfully completed before the award of a Fellowship can be confirmed.
View full regulations on the Royal Commission 1851 website.


Awards available throughout the year.  Please check the webpages for information. 

Publishing Office - © University of Kent

The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ, T: +44 (0)1227 764000