Information Services – IT Services

Kent IT Account closure

When you leave the University your IT Account closes. This means you can no longer access University files or resources, and your email address changes.

Undergraduates and taught postgraduates

What you'll lose access to

On the date your student registration ends you instantly lose access to Moodle and Library e-resources.

After 60 days you lose access to all University systems and files, including KentVision, Moodle, WiFi. You're taken off University and student society mailing lists.

What can I still use?

If you're starting another course

When the new course starts you'll get a new Kent IT Account with a new username.

 

Staff and research postgraduates

Before you leave Kent, the closing date for your IT Account is emailed to you.

After that, you will lose access to the Kent network and all University systems except alumni email, which you have for life, and MyFolio which you have for a year.

You will have no access to:

  • Systems and web services like SDS, Moodle, Sharepoint, Library e-resources
  • Mailing lists: you will be taken off University mailing lists
  • Blog publishing: if you run or edit a blog you will lose access to it.


Before your IT Account closes, you should:

Contact Helpdesk if you have:

  • an Organisational Unit (OU) Account: this account needs to be closed;
  • access to electronic documents: your access rights need to be removed.

If you have an account that's managed by other departments (eg Finance or Student Data Systems) please ask them to close your account on your leaving date.


Moving or copying data

You need to move work files to a shared location on the network, and should move or delete personal files.


 

IT Services, University of Kent

Contact IT Services  |  Feedback on IT Services  |  IT Regulations

Last Updated: 22/02/2017