Staff Immigration

Overview of UK immigration

In 2008 the UK Border Agency (now UK Visas and Immigration, UKVI) established a Points-Based System to determine the rights of non-EEA citizens wishing to enter and work in the UK.

Employers are required to obtain a sponsor licence in order to employ non-EEA citizens under the Points-Based System.  The University currently holds a licence to sponsor individuals under Tier 2, Tier 4 and Tier 5 (Government Authorised Exchange).

There are five tiers and further sub-tiers in the Points-Based System.

Tier Categories / sub tiers
Tier 1

Exceptional talent - endorsed as an internationally recognised leader or emerging leader in theirr field in science, humanities, engineering, medicine, digital technology or the arts

Tier 2

Skilled workers with a job offer in UK, (former work permit route)
General, intra company transfers (ICT), ministers of religion, sports people

Tier 3

Low skilled workers needed to fill temporary labour shortages
This route has never been operational

Tier 4

Students (general), Doctorate Extension Scheme

Tier 5

Youth mobility and temporary workers (creative and sporting, charity workers, religious workers, government authorised exchanges, international agreement


Immigration - © University of Kent

The Registry, The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ, T: +44 (0)1227 824998

Last Updated: 14/01/2019

Banner Image: Anne Worner