Staff Immigration

Biometric Residence Permit

Through a scheduled implementation, from March 2015, non EEA nationals entering the UK for more than six months will be required to apply for a Biometric Residence Permit (BRP) for collection after arrival.

Non EEA nationals will be issued with a 30-day vignette in their passport (valid from the intended travel date).  This will allow you to travel and enter the UK for a short period, during which time you must collect your BRP from a designated Post Office.  It is expected that you will collect your BRP within 10 days of arrival. If you do not collect your BRP within 10 days of arrival in the UK you may be subject to a financial penalty or cancellation of your leave.

You are strongly encouraged to collect your BRP before you start work. However if you need to start work prior to collecting your BRP you will be able to evidence your right to work by producing the short validity vignette in the passport used to travel to the UK. A follow up check will be required before the expiry of the short travel vignette.

Collection of your BRP

Your decision letter will tell you the date from which your BRP will be available for collection as well as the Post Office branch holding your BRP. The date from which the biometric permit is available for collection is based upon the date you indicated as your intended travel date in your visa application. The Post Office branch you have been allocated is linked to the postcode you submitted in your visa application. You do not need to make an appointment to collect your BRP.

Details of Post Office locations offering the service and their opening times can be found at

Further information

Home Office information regarding the application process and collecting your BRP can be found here.

Information for University staff carrying out right to work checks can be found here.


From 18 March 2015:  

  • Pakistan

back to top


From mid April 2015:

  • Armenia
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Burma
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Italy
  • Laos
  • Libya
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • North Korea
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Republic of Ireland
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sweden
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam


back to top

From 31 May 2015:

  • Afghanistan
  • Ascension Island
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominican Republic
  • Egypt
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • Guyana
  • Iran
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Malaysia
  • Mongolia
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Oman
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • St Helena


  • St Lucia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • United Arab Emirates
  • USA
  • Yemen


back to top

From 31 July 2015:

  • Rest of World

back to top




Immigration - © University of Kent

The Registry, The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ, T: +44 (0)1227 824998

Last Updated: 18/06/2015

Banner Image: Anne Worner