Kent Graduate School

With passion and focus / You can achieve anything

Directors of Graduate Studies' Network Group

The Directors of Graduate Studies’ Network Group has been established by the Graduate School to provide a forum in which Directors of Graduate Studies from across the University can meet informally to discuss best practice in graduate education and research. The Network Group meets on a termly basis.

Terms of Reference
  • To support the mission of the Graduate School, which is 'to lead and champion the strategic development for graduate education and research at the University of Kent'.
  • To provide Directors of Graduate Studies with a forum for discussion in relation to:
    • The development of postgraduate education and policy at Kent;
    • The enhancement of the postgraduate student experience across the University.
  • To share good practice examples with regard to the delivery and support of postgraduate education at Kent.
  • To discuss the development of the Researcher Development programme coordinated by the Graduate School.
  • To report the outcome of its discussions to the Graduate School Board (to inform the development of postgraduate policy at institutional level).
  • To keep abreast of developments nationally and internationally in relation to postgraduate education.

Chair: Professor Paul Allain (Dean of the Graduate School)
Secretary: Suzie Morris (Graduate School Administration Manager)

Members 2017–18:

Faculty of Sciences

  • Dr Colin Johnson (Associate Dean (Graduate Studies))

School of Biosciences

  • Dr Campbell Gourlay (Research)
  • Dr Alessia Buscaino and Dr Anastasios Tsaousis (Research)
  • Dr Dan Lloyd (Taught)

School of Computing

  • Professor Sally Fincher (Research)
  • Dr Peter Kenny (Taught)

School of Engineering and Digital Arts

  • Professor Steven Gao (Research)
  • Dr Jim Ang (Taught)

School of Mathematics, Statistics and Actuarial Science

  • Dr Steffan Krusch (Research)
  • Andrew James (Taught)

Medway School of Pharmacy

  • Dr Gurprit Lall (Research)
  • Dr Trudy Thomas (Taught)

School of Physical Sciences

  • Dr Silvia Ramos

School of Sport and Exercise Sciences

  • Dr. James Hopker

Faculty of Social Sciences

  • Dr Fragkiskos Filippaios (Associate Dean (Graduate Studies))


  • Professor Chris Shilling (Research)
  • Dr Iain Wilkinson (Taught)

School of Anthropology and Conservation

  • Dr Joseph Tzanopolos (Deputy Research – DICE)
  • Dr Matthew Hodges (Deputy Research – Anthropology)
  • Dr Zoe Davis (Deputy Taught – DICE)
  • Dr Anna Waldstein (Deputy Taught – Anthropology)

School of Economics

  • Dr Alex Klein (Research)
  • Dr Audrey Launov (Taught)

Kent Business School

  • Prof John Mingers (until December 2017) Dr May Seitanidi (Research)
  • Dr Catherine Robinson (Taught)

Kent Law School

  • Dr Donatella Alessandrini (Research)
  • Professor Judy Fudge (Research)
  • Dr Emily Grabham (Research)
  • Dr Simone Wong (Taught)
  • Dr Sinead Ring (Taught)
  • Dr Emily Haslam (Taught)

School of Politics and International Relations

  • Dr Andrea den Boer (until December 2017) Dr Edward Morgan Jones (Research)
  • Dr Ben Seyd (Taught)

School of Psychology

  • Professor Robbie Sutton (Research)
  • Professor Karen Douglas (Taught)

Centre for Journalism

  • Richard Pendry

Centre for Professional Practice

  • Dr Claire Parkin (Research)
  • Dr Anne-Maria Brennan (Taught)

Centre for the Study of Higher Education

  • Dr. Kathleen Quinlan (Research)
  • Fran Beaton (Taught)

Faculty of Humanities

  • Professor Gordana Fontana-Giusti (Associate Dean (Graduate Studies))

Kent School of Architecture

  • Dr Manolo Guerci (Research)
  • Howard Griffin (Taught)

School of Arts

  • Dr Maurizio Cinquergrani (until December 2017) Robert Shaughnessy (Research)
  • Dr Margrethe Bruun Vaage (Taught)

School of English

  • Professor David Ayers (Research)
  • Dr Derek Ryan (Taught)


  • Dr Lucy O'Meara (Research)
  • Dr Vikki Janke (Taught)

School of History

  • Dr Philip Boobbyer (Research)
  • Professor Charlotte Sleigh (Taught)

School of Music and Fine Art

  • Prof Kevin Dawe

Centre for American Studies

  • Dr Michael Collins

Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Studies

  • Dr Amy Blakeway and Dr Ryan Perry

Brussels Centre

  • Dr Albena Azmanova (Research)
  • Dr Amanda Klekowski von Koppenfels (Taught)
Meeting Schedule

2017/18 meeting dates for the Directors of Graduate Studies Network Group:

  • Wednesday 15th November 2017, 10.00 - 12.00, Graduate School Training Room, Cornwallis East

  • Thursday 8th March 2018, 10.00 - 12.00, room TBC

  • Thursday 7th June 2018, 10.00 - 12.00, Graduate School Training Room, Cornwallis East

Agendas, Papers and Minutes

Agendas, papers and minutes are available to members of the Directors of Graduate Studies' Network Group on the Graduate School area on Sharepoint.

Queries about the Directors of Graduate Studies' Network Group should be directed to Suzie Morris (Graduate School Administration Manager).



Graduate School - © University of Kent

Enquiries: +44 (0)1227 824089 or contact us

Last Updated: 17/01/2018