Principal officers



The Lord Archbishop of Canterbury


Gavin Esler BA (Kent), MA (Leeds), DCL (Kent), FRSA

Chair of the Council

Sir David Warren KCMG, MA (Oxford)

Vice-Chancellor and President

Professor Karen Cox BSc (Hons) (KCL), PhD (Nottingham), RGN, Onc Cert, DipHE (Oxford Brookes), PGCAP (Nottingham), FHEA

Chair of the Finance and Resources Committee

Bob Scruton BSc (Kent), MSc (Open), FCA, TEP, FRSA

Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost

David Nightingale MA (Oxford)

Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Chief Operating Officer

Denise Everitt BA (Kent), ACA

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research & Innovation

Professor Philippe De Wilde MSc PhD (Ghent)

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Education

Professor April McMahon MA PhD (Edinburgh), FBA, FRSE, FLSW

Director of Finance

Jane Higham BSc (Warwick), ACA

Director of Human Resources and Organisational Development Alison Ross-Green BA (Warwick), FCIPD

Dean of the Faculty of Humanities

Professor Simon Kirchin MA (Oxford), PhD (Sheffield)

Dean of the Faculty of Sciences

Professor Mark Burchell BSc (Birmingham), DIC, PhD (London)

Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences

Professor Georgina Randsley De Moura BSc PGCHE MBA PhD (Kent), FHEA, AFBPsS, PPABP (Interim)

Dean for Europe

Professor Jeremy Carrette BA (Manchester), MPhil (Lancaster), PhD (Manchester)

Dean of the Graduate School

Professor Paul Allain BA (Exeter), PhD (London), FRSA

Dean for Internationalisation

Dr Anthony Manning BA (Lancaster), MA (Leicester), PGCE (York), PGCHE (Kent), PFHEA, FLF, EdD (Leicester)

Dean of KentHealth

Dr Peter Nicholls BSc (Southampton), PhD (London)

Dean of the Kent and Medway Medical School Professor Christopher Holland MBBS (Belfast), MMEd (Warwick), FRCA, FFICM, FAcadMedEd

Dean for Medway

Professor Nicholas Grief BA PhD (Kent), Barrister at Law

Secretary to the Council (and the Court)

Dr Keith Lampard BA (Kent), MSc (London), PhD (Kent), PGC-HEM (Southampton)

Senior Master

Jane Glew BSc (Aston), PG Dip (CIM), MA (Greenwich) (Interim)

Master of Darwin and Woolf Colleges

Dr Jonathan Friday BA (London), MPhil PhD (Cambridge)

Master of Eliot College

Stephen Burke BA (Kent)

Master of Keynes College

Chloé Gallien L-és-L M-ès-L DEA (Nancy), MBA (OUBS), FHEA, FAUA

Master of Rutherford College

Dr Peter Klappa BSc MSc PhD (Munich), PGCHE (Kent)

Master of Turing College

Emma Bainbridge BA PhD (Kent)

College Master for Medway

Jane Glew BSc (Aston), PG Dip (CIM), MA (Greenwich)


Governance - © University of Kent

The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ, T: +44 (0)1227 823903 or Contact us

Last Updated: 02/07/2019