Lay Nominations Committee


Chair: The Chair of the Council (ex officio) Sir David Warren (to 31.7.2020).

Deputy Chair of the Council:  Bob Scruton (to 31.7.2021);
Two lay members of the Council:  Colin Carmichael (to 31.7.2020), Angela McNab (to 31.7.2020); 
Vice-Chancellor and President:  Professor Karen Cox; Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost, David Nightingale; 

One other member of academic staff appointed by the Senate: Dr Simon Kirchin

Secretary: Dr Keith Lampard, Secretary of the Council (

Terms of Reference:

  1. to seek nominations for lay membership of Council, under Paragraph 8(a) of the Charter, and its sub-committees through members of the Council, staff and students of the University and to consider how the vacancies should be publicised;
  2. to consider nominations, with consultation as it considers appropriate, and to make recommendations to the Council;
  3. to advise Council on the balance of membership and period of tenure in accordance with the needs of the University;
  4. to make recommendations in relation to lay appointments in accordance with Ordinance XIV (concerning limitations on the periods of appointment of lay officers and members of the Council).

Quorum:  4 (to include at least two lay members of Council).

Frequency of meetings: 1-2 p.a.



Governance - © University of Kent

The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ, T: +44 (0)1227 823903 or Contact us

Last Updated: 09/05/2018