The UK's European university

Prospective students and applicants

"I plan to start at Kent in the academic year 2020/21 and beyond"

*Update 23 June 2020*

Fees and Funding

Eligibility rules for EU, other EEA and Swiss nationals, and their family members, who wish to commence courses in England in the Academic Year starting in August 2021 are changing.

EU, other EEA and Swiss nationals will no longer be eligible for home fee status, undergraduate, postgraduate and advanced learner financial support from Student Finance England for courses starting in academic year 2021/22.

This change will also apply to Further Education funding for those aged 19+, and funding for apprenticeships.

It will not affect students starting courses in academic year 2020/21, nor those EU, other EEA and Swiss nationals benefitting from Citizens’ Rights under the EU Withdrawal Agreement, EEA EFTA Separation Agreement or Swiss Citizens’ Rights Agreement respectively.

It will also not apply to Irish nationals living in the UK or Ireland whose right to study and to access benefits and services will be preserved on a reciprocal basis for UK and Irish nationals under the Common Travel Area arrangement.


On 31 January 2020 at 11pm, the United Kingdom left the European Union and entered a transition period, which due to end on 31 December 2020. During the transition period, EU citizens can continue to enjoy their freedom of movement rights in the UK as they did before Brexit. EU citizens and their family members who arrive before 31 December 2020 should apply to the EU settlement scheme to enable them to continue living in the UK after the transition period ends. The deadline for applying is 30 June 2021. You can find more information about the scheme on the UK Council for International Student Affairs website.

EU citizens who will be arriving in the UK from 1 January 2021 onwards will need to apply under the new immigration system which will be in place at the time.

European centres

Students studying for postgraduate degrees at our European Centres will continue to be able to receive appropriate Schengen visas, either through our own legal registration or through our partners.  All degrees delivered at the centres will continue to be fully accredited in the United Kingdom.

Back to Kent and Brexit homepage >

International Development Office

The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ, T: +44 (0)1227 764000

Last Updated: 02/07/2020