Employability Points


EP Rewards Evening 2018

Celebrating the successes of the Employability Points Scheme.


The Employability Points Rewards Evening took place on Tuesday 5th June 2018 at the Royal Dockyard Church at the University of Kent’s Medway campus.

This evening, which welcomed over 200 guests, celebrated the co-curricular achievements of 21 high-performing students and thanked external businesses and organisations for their ongoing support of the Employability Points (EP) Scheme.

The highest scoring students were provided with Amazon vouchers, courtesy of 17 external organisations, including Enterprise Rent-a-Car, Kreston Reeves, Kent Invicta Chamber of Commerce and Medway Council to name a few.

The event was kindly sponsored by Santander Universities, with Canterbury City Council sponsoring the promotional materials, Medway Council providing support for the event, Arriva providing return-transport for guests from Canterbury and KMTV co-sponsoring a highlights video.

The evening welcomed staff, students and businesses alike and notably, the Deputy Mayor of Medway, Councillor Habib Tejan, the Mayor of Sevenoaks, Councillor Roderick Hogarth attended, whilst the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Education Professor April McMahon opened the event.

The EP team would like to thank all the sponsoring organisations for their support in ensuring the event was a success.

You can view the Facebook photo album here. You can also view retrospective social media activity via the hashtag #eprewards2018.

Now in its eighth year, the University of Kent’s EP Scheme has witnessed a record 8,390 students participated, supported by 147 companies and organisations.

To find out more about the event details, speakers, and the scheme’s winners, see below:


Many of our sponsors and supporters were invited to our rewards evening. Some even made presentations about students and spoke about why they wanted to get involved with Employability Points, along with students who have benefited from the scheme, and members of the University of Kent community. Here are the speakers we had on the night:

Carole Barron - Director of Kent Innovation and Enterprise, University of Kent

Professor April McMahon - Deputy Vice-Chancellor Education, University of Kent

Marcus Wright – Enterprise Relationship Manager, University of Kent

Kevin Bardwell - University Relationship Manager, Santander Universities

Emily Antcliffe - Deputy Director, Civil Service

Peri Mehmet - Systems Graduate, BAE Systems

Jennifer Thomas – Client Business Manager, Caliper

Dalia Halpern-Matthews - Chief Executive, Nucleus Arts

Liz Evitts - Projects & Communications Officer, Study Plus

Maisie Golding - Marketing & PR Coordinator, Iona

Gregg Lawrence - Director, Yoyo Design

Charlotte Richardson - Head of Marketing and Communications, K Sports

Scott Maynard – HR Director, Southeastern

Professor Martin Parr - Principal Consultant, DSTL

Liam O'Driscoll - Community Engagement Manager, Canterbury Cathedral

Jo James - Chief Executive, Kent Invcita Chamber of Commerce

Colin Carmichael - Chief Executive, Canterbury City Council

Becky Simms – Managing Director, Reflect Digital

James Lagdon - Medway Student EP Ambassador, University of Kent

Cllr Alan Jarrett - Leader of Medway Council

Raj Dohil - Talent Acquisition Manager, Enterprise Rent-a-Car

Richard Heasman – Forensic Accounting and HR Partner, Kreston Reeves

Student Award Presentations

Here is a list of winners who were announced on the night:

Anna Meares, Highest Scoring Student 2017-18

Breanna Banar, Highest Scoring Student 2017-18 (runner-up)

Miguel Santos, Highest Scoring Student from the Canterbury Campus

Vladislav Kozub, Highest Scoring Student from the Medway Campus

Melissa Neave, Highest Scoring Student from the Faculty of Social Sciences

Sergey Ovchinnik, Highest Scoring Student from the Faculty of Sciences

Aleksandar Angelov, Highest Scoring Student from the Faculty of Humanities

Rowena Bicknell, Highest Scoring Postgraduate Student

Thomas Ritchie, Highest Scoring Student Studying a Heritage related Degree

Damian Harateh, Highest Scoring Student Studying a Finance related Degree

Tyler Hamblin, EP Student with the Highest Number of Volunteering Hours towards Kent Union/GK Union’s KSCV Award

Rebekah Wilinsky, EP Student with the Highest Number of Volunteering Hours towards Kent Union/GK Union’s KSCV Award (Second place)

Emanuele Errichiello, EP Student with the Highest Number of Volunteering Hours towards Kent Union/GK Union’s KSCV Award (Third place)

Heena Patel, Highest Scoring Student who completed the Careers and Employability Award

Jonathan Small, Highest Scoring Student Studying a Business related Degree in Medway

Hazel Ebenezer, Highest Scoring Student at a European Centre

Omolara Ogundipe, Highest Scoring First Year Undergraduate Student

Ayako Ohzeki, Student who has Earned the most Points by Completing Study Plus Courses

Aneta Klukova, Highest Scoring Student who Serves as either a Sports Team Captain or Society President

Lauren Thynne, Highest Scoring Student Studying a Creative Degree

Chantal Cohen, Highest Scoring Student who has Undertaken Academic Peer Mentoring


Event sponsorship

Event sponsored by:


Promotional materials sponsored by:


Transport sponsored by:


Promotional video co-sponsored by:

Event supported by:








Employability Points scheme - © University of Kent

Hub for Innovation & Enterprise, Canterbury Innovation Centre, Unit 70, University Road, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7FG, T: +44 (0)1227 823109

Last Updated: 26/09/2018