Erasmus and exchanges

European Credit Transfer System

Kent took part in the pilot project for the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS), and the use of ECTS across the University was approved and implemented at the earliest opportunity.

ECTS, was developed by the Commission of the European Communities in order to provide common procedures to guarantee academic recognition of studies abroad. It provides a way of measuring and comparing learning achievements, and transferring them from one institution to another.

ECTS students

The students participating in ECTS will receive full credit for all academic work successfully carried out at an ECTS partner institutions and they will be able to transfer these academic credits from one participating institution to another on the basis of prior agreement on the content of study programmes abroad between students and the institutions involved


Publishing Office - © University of Kent

The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ, T: +44 (0)1227 764000

Last Updated: 05/10/2018