Careers and Employability Service

I want to work in Further Education Teaching

Job roles


Qualified teacher learning and skills (QTLS) is the professional status for teachers in further education. Since 2012 schools can employ, as qualified teachers, holders of QTLS. Head teachers can now employ teachers irrespective of whether their background is in schools or further education.
New qualifications for teaching in the FE sector were introduced in 2013. Both sets of qualifications are regarded as valid so, whichever you do, you will be qualified.

Current Qualifications

  • Level 3 Award in Education and Training (QCF) 12 credits
  • Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training (QCF) 36 credits
  • Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training (QCF) 120 credits 

Older Qualifications

  • Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector [PTLLS] 12 Credits
  • Certificate of Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector [CTLLS] 36 Credits
  • Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector [DTLLS] 120 Credits 

Some universities may adopt different titles for their qualifications, for example they may be called PGCE in Post Compulsory Education and Training (PCET), Cert Ed, Post Graduate Diploma or Professional Diploma. All these qualify you to teach in the FE sector.
Until 2013 most teachers in FE were required to hold (or work towards gaining in a set time) the level 5 DTLLS.  The Government removed these requirements in 2013.  However employers are likely to continue to demand teaching qualifications from prospective teachers, or a commitment to gain them.




Careers and Employability Service - © University of Kent

The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7ND, T: +44 (0)1227 764000 ext. 3299

Last Updated: 31/05/2018