Alumni and Friends

profile image for  David Mitchell

David Mitchell


BA English and American Literature (Darwin 1987)


David Mitchell has written five novels, two of which were shortlisted for the Booker Prize. His first novel, Ghostwritten (1999), won the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize (for best work of British literature written by an author under 35) and was shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award.

David’s two subsequent novels, number9dream (2001) and Cloud Atlas (2004), were both shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. In 2003, he was selected as one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists In 2007 Mitchell was listed among Time magazine's 100 Most Influential People in The World. In 2012 Cloud Atlas was made into a film. David's sixth novel, The Bone Clocks, will be released in September 2014.

In recent years David has also written opera libretti: Wake, based on the 2000 Enschede fireworks disaster and with music by Klaas de Vries, was performed by the Dutch Nationale Reisopera in 2010. David has also finished another opera, Sunken Garden, with the Dutch composer Michel van der Aa, premiered in 2013 by the English National Opera.

David received an honorary Doctor of Civil Law from the University in 2006.

back to top


Alumni Relations - Development Office

The University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ, T: +44 (0)1227 764000

Last Updated: 19/01/2015