School of History


Administrative Roles

Administrative Role (2012/2013) Name
Head of School Professor Kenneth Fincham
Deputy Head of School Dr Philip Boobbyer
Director of Research Professor Mark Connelly (Autumn Term)
Professor Gaynor Johnson (Spring and Summer Terms)
Director of Graduate Studies (Research) Dr Juliette Pattinson
Director of Graduate Studies (Taught) Dr Stefan Goebel (Autumn and Summer Terms)
Dr Giacomo Macola (Spring Term)
Director of Admissions & Employability Champion Dr Julie Anderson
Director of Learning and Teaching Dr Peter Donaldson
Student Support Officer Dr Leonie Wells-Furby
Senior Tutor Dr Peter Donaldson
Stage II/III Chief Examiner Dr Pratik Chakrabarti
Examinations Secretary Dr David Grummitt
Stage I Chief Examiner Dr George Conyne
Director of Internationalisation Professor Ulf Schmidt
Erasmus Coordinator Professor Ulf Schmidt
Director of Part Time Programmes Dr Peter Donaldson
Library Coordinator Dr Giacomo Macola
Research Seminar Coordinator Professor Ulf Schmidt
Associate & Assistant Lecturer Liaison Officer Dr Philip Boobbyer
Impact Champion Dr Julie Anderson
Convenor MA in Modern History Dr Stefan Goebel
Convenor MA in War, Media and Society Dr Stefan Goebel
Convenor MA in Science, Medicine, Environment and Technology (SMET) Dr Pratik Chakrabarti
Director of the Centre for the History of the Sciences Dr Charlotte Sleigh
Director of the Centre for the Study of Propaganda, War and Society Professor David Welch (Autumn Term)
Director of the Centre for the History of Medicine, Ethics and Medical Humanities Dr Julie Anderson
Director of the Centre for American Studies Dr Karen Jones (Autumn and Spring Terms)
Dr John Wills (Summer Term)
Director of the Centre for Medieval & Early Modern Studies Dr Helen Gittos (Spring Term)
HI605 Independent Documentary Study Convenor Dr Leonie Wells-Furby
HI566 Second Year Dissertation Convenor Dr George Conyne
HI426 Making History (First Year Core Course) Convenor Dr Jan Loop
School Administration Manager Jackie Waller
Student Office Manager Jon Beer
Recruitment, Admissions and Communications Administrator Sam Crooks
REF Support Officer Dr Zoë Denness
Postgraduate Coordinator Chloë Robbins
Undergraduate Programmes Coordinator Rob Brown
Web and IT Coordinator Tim Keward
Receptionist/Clerical Assistant Eloise Bates
Equal Opportunities Officer Dr Pratik Chakrabarti
Health & Safety Coordinator Chloë Robbins


School of History, Rutherford College, University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NX

T: +44 (0)1227 823710 or E:

Last Updated: 07/04/2014